Power Failure

Today I was reading in the book of Acts, and I cam across this commonly referenced verse:

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” (Acts 1:8 ESV)

What struck me about that verse is the connection between the fact that we, as believers, are given POWER in the Holy Spirit. However, we are not simply given power as if we were plugging in our cell phones to be charged, but we are given power for a God-centered purpose – to be Christ’s witnesses. We are given power to proclaim the goodness and mercy of Jesus to the ends of the earth.

I feel that many times we forget that the power given to us is for the purpose of evangelism. We forget that we are being equipped by the Holy Spirit to share our faith with those around us. While we have this power, we tend to fall back on such excuses as “What if _____ rejects my plea to follow Christ?” or “What if ______ makes fun of me for being a Christian?”

Could those things happen? Yes they could. However, we must also remember that we have been given power, and that Christ will prevail over our fear and doubts. Remember his words: “I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.” (Matthew 16:18 ESV) Christ’s church will be built up, and he has equipped us with the power to be able to join him in that task.

Let’s not forget that today.

Comments Off on Power Failure

Filed under Ministry

Comments are closed.