Exhaustion

Being a husband, father, pastor, school teacher, and community leader can be exhausting. Honestly, l feel that I live in a perpetual state of exhaustion. I go to bed tired; I wake up tired; I go to work tired; I come home tired…and repeat the next day.

However, I can find peace in two facts each day I am exhausted:

1. I serve a God who never tires and never rests. When I am tired and weary, He is strong. The psalmist writes, “Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.” (121:4, ESV) It is a great comfort knowing that my God does not tire and is always ready to hear me.

2. I can find rest in God. “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28 ESV) When I am weak and tired, I can take my burdens to God, and He will carry them for me. Furthermore, there will come a day when I will rest eternally in His presence and will never tire again.

Today is one of those days when I need this reminder.

Comments Off on Exhaustion

Filed under Family, Ministry

Comments are closed.