30 for 30 #11: Camping with My Grandparents

One of my favorite activities  as a child was camping with my mom’s parents, Maw Maw and Paw Paw. Several times throughout the year, we would pack the RV and head off to a campground with their camping club.

They were always going somewhere with their group of camping friends, and when the school calendar allowed, I was with them. I have fond memories of campgrounds throughout the state of Alabama. Thanks to Maw Maw and Paw Paw, I had the opportunity to see the mountains of north Alabama, rivers, waterfalls, natural springs, huge lakes, hiking trails, and beaches.

I would spend numerous hours on my bike, exploring the campgrounds we visited, making friends along the way. I enjoyed the nights we stayed up late around the campfire. I remember listening to the older men tell stories. I loved watching Paw Paw cook breakfast outside in the cool morning air – making pancakes, eggs, and bacon on a griddle set on top of a picnic table.

Those were all great times that I will cherish forever.

Paw Paw and Me

Paw Paw and Me

Comments Off on 30 for 30 #11: Camping with My Grandparents

Filed under Family

Comments are closed.